The purpose of the thesis Prize of PSL University is to reward and promote the best doctoral work in five Humanities and Social Sciences fields:

  • Art Aesthetics Literature 
  • Law, economics, management
  • Humanities
  • Science / Humanities Interfaces
  • Social Sciences


  • thesis defended between December 2017 and December 2018 at a French or foreign higher education institution
  • thesis written in one of the following languages: French, English, German, Spanish or Italian


The winning works will receive a prize worth 5000 euros, consisting of a sum of 2000 euros and a funding of 3000 euros for a research stay (in Paris for foreigners or international partners of PSL for French).

Each laureate will also give three seminars in three partner institutions of PSL.

Prizes will be awarded in June 2019 by Dominique Schnapper, director of studies at EHESS and chairwoman of the PSL SHS 2019 thesis prize, at an official ceremony at Collège de France (presence of the laureates mandatory).

Composition of the jury

Chairwoman of the PSL SHS 2019 thesis prize: Dominique Schnapper, director of studies at EHESS

Prize Art Aesthetics Literature 

  • Chairman: Esteban Buch, EHESS
  • Nicole Brenez, Université Sorbonne-Nouvelle
  • Thomas Conrad, ENS
  • Béatrice Joyeux-Prunel, ENS
  • Jean-Marie Schaeffer, EHESS

Prize Law, economics, management

  • Chairman: Antoine Bozio, EHESS
  • Edith Ginglinger, Université Paris-Dauphine
  • Matthieu Glachant, Mines
  • Jean-Louis Halperin, ENS
  • Véronique Perret, Dauphine
  • Blanche Segrestin, MINES ParisTech

Prize Humanities

  • Chairwoman: Sophie Roux, ENS
  • François Bougard, CNRS
  • Pascal Bourdeaux, EPHE
  • Robert Hawley, EPHE
  • Marilena Maniaci, Università degli studi di Cassino e del Lazio meridionale
  • Pascale Rabault-Feuerhahn, ENS

Prize Science / Humanities Interfaces

  • Chairwoman: Danielle Jacquart, EPHE
  • Armand Hatchuel, MINES ParisTech
  • Grégory Quenet, Université de Versailles Saint-Quentin
  • Daniel Stöekl, EPHE

Prize Social Sciences

  • Chairwoman: Dominique Méda, Université Paris-Dauphine
  • Beatriz Fernandez-Agueda, EHESS
  • Valérie Gelézeau, EHESS
  • Choukri Hmed, Université Paris-Dauphine
  • Pascal Le Masson, MINES ParisTech
  • Périg Pitrou, CNRS
  • Florence Weber, ENS  


Applications must be sent by email to before January 10, 2019.

Incomplete or out of time files will not be taken into account.

For more information, click here!